Register Now

Submit Your Poster Abstracts!

14 December 2018

Join us at Heart + Lung Health FEST 2019’s Scientific Symposium and take part in t... Read more

Other recent news

Heart + Lung Health FEST 2016

Distinguished Speaker in Cardiovascular Medicine

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 2.54.42 PM

Dr. Rob Beanlands MD, FRCPC
Chief, Division of Cardiology
University of Ottawa Heart Institute
Professor of Medicine (Cardiology) and Radiology

Lecture title: Mapping the myocardium’s metabolic and cellular function: Navigating with PET


Dr. Rob Beanlands is the Chief and Vered Chair of the Division of Cardiology at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute. He received his MD from the University of Ottawa in 1983 (gold medalist). He is a cardiologist and an international leader in cardiovascular nuclear imaging as well as the founding Director of the Heart Institute’s National Cardiac PET Centre, the only PET facility in Canada dedicated to cardiovascular disease. He is a Career Investigator supported by the Heart and Stroke Foundation and is the Tier 1 Chair in Cardiovascular Imaging Research (uOttawa). His research focus on the hearts metabolism, flow and cellular function has led to pioneering translational work that has impacted the understanding disease mechanisms, applications in patient care, health policy and guidelines in imaging. He has led several multicentre imaging research initiatives (PARR2, IMAGE-HF, CADRE Registry and is a Co-PI for the Canadian Atherosclerotic Imaging Network (CAIN)). He has more than 225 peer reviewed publications in this field. He has served on several committees/advisory boards for government, industry and professional organizations impacting healthcare policies and practice guidelines and serves as an Associate Editor for the Canadian Journal of Cardiology and the Journal of Nuclear Cardiology. He is a Professor in the Division of Cardiology (Department of Medicine), Department of Radiology and Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine at the University of Ottawa. Dr. Beanlands is past-president of the Canadian Nuclear Cardiology Society, past Ontario Governor for the Amercian College of Cardiology and was the Scientific Program Chair and Annual Meeting Chair for the Canadian Cardiovascular Society. He is also the chair of the Heart and Stroke Foundation Scientific Review Committee, Treasurer of the American Society of Nuclear Cardiology and Co-Chair of the International Congress on Nuclear Cardiology and CT imaging. Recent Awards include Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012) for Contributions to Canada, Hermann Blumgart Research Achievement Award for the Society of Nuclear Medicine (2013) and Canadian Cardiovascular Society Research Achievement Award (2015).